Day 9: February 16, 2017

Today’s Progress: Continued to work on FCC and a little bit of my portfolio.

Thoughts: I think I am officially setting The Odin Project to the side. They eventually have more of a focus on Ruby/Ruby on Rails and I think that it’s already a lot to try and learn as many languages as I would be between my actual coursework and FCC without adding that to the list. I don’t want to set myself up for failure by adding too much to my plate, so for now I’ll keep my focus on FCC.

The challenges today were just that: challenging. I really enjoyed it because I was able to put a lot of the stuff I’ve learned up until now to work. I still have to look up syntactical things pretty often, but at least I know what to look for. I feel like I have a grasp on the algorithms (and could write pretty efficient pseudocode as a result). The hardest part for me currently is remembering how to accomplish a certain thing in a specific language. At some point I would like to remember a lot more without having to Google the syntax.

Link(s) to work:

  1. Reverse a String
  2. Factorialize a Number
  3. Check for Palindromes
  4. Find the Longest Word in a String
  5. Title Case a Sentence
  6. Return Largest Numbers in Arrays
  7. Confirm the Ending
  8. Repeat a String Repeat a String
  9. Truncate a String
  10. Chunky Monkey
  11. Slasher Flick
  12. Mutations
  13. Falsy Bouncer
Leave a Reply

